David Allen Pratt
David Allen Pratt
6:00am - 10:00am
News Blog


Governor Chris Christie Announces Federal Disaster Aid Has Been Approved for All 21 New Jersey Counties

Individual Assistance Approved for Burlington, Hudson, Mercer, Ocean and Union counties, making New Jerseyans in all 21 counties eligible for direct relief


For Immediate Release                                                                Contact: Michael Drewniak

Sunday, September 4, 2011                                                                           Kevin Roberts


Trenton, NJ – Governor Chris Christie today announced that the federal government has approved New Jersey’s request for disaster assistance for New Jerseyans impacted by Hurricane Irene in all 21 counties.  Individual and public assistance were approved for Burlington, Hudson, Ocean and Union counties, and individual assistance was approved for Mercer county, following the public assistance eligibility granted yesterday.  Every New Jersey county has now been approved for both individual and public assistance by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

New Jersey residents and small businesses in all 21 counties are now eligible to apply for different types of federalassistance, including temporary housing, repair, replacement or other needs such as Disaster Unemployment Assistance, and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

Public assistance eligibility for all 21 counties allows state, eligible local governments, and certain nonprofit organizations to apply for federal funding on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Irene.

Survivors of Hurricane Irene in every New Jersey county who suffered damage should apply for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency – even if they have insurance or aren’t sure they are eligible. 

Register by phone at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585 for those with hearing or speech impairments. Specialists are standing by at the toll-free numbers seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, until further notice. Help in other languages is available. Or you can register online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov.You can also apply through a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone by visiting m.fema.gov and following the link to “apply online for federal assistance.”

Music News

Kool Arcade